January 26, 2017 — Annual Meeting Minutes


The Ipswich Outboard Club Board of Directors held the IOC annual meeting at St. Lawrence Literary Society, Fairview Ave., Ipswich, Ma. The meeting was called to order by Commodore Wright at 7:19pm. All officers and directors were present. 24 IOC voting members attended the meeting.

Commodore Wright welcomed all to the 2017 IOC annual meeting.

Secretary Morin mentioned the 2016 annual meeting minutes were approved at the board meeting in February 2016. Members were asked if anyone had a question on the minutes. A motion was made to dispense with the reading of the annual minutes from 2016. Motion seconded and approved by a unanimous vote.

Secretary’s Report:

  • Thank you to all members who have paid their 2017 dues. March 1st deadline.
  • The 2016 stickers are orange.
  • Cook-out being planned for May again this year.
  • Please call the secretary if you need anything.
  • The new on-line software is up and running. Some tweaks need to be made. Thank you for your patience. Thank you to Liz Lombard and John Sioninen for their work to get the website up and running.
  • Ipswich Waterways Committee update:
    • The sea wall on Water Street is being looked at now to rebuild.
    • Non-motorized vessel launches are being created on the Ipswich River.
    • The Ipswich River is being looked at to dredge. Gary Champion reported his work on the project.
    • An Ipswich Harbormaster Plan is being looked at to create.
  • A new guest pass policy is in place. Members may request 2 guest passes per year at $10 each to support the scholarship fund. No guest passes will be available from July 4th to Labor day on the weekends.

The secretary’s report was approved as submitted.

Treasurer’s Report:

  • The 2016 annual financial report reviewed by the audit committee was distributed and read along with comments from the treasurer.
  • The 2017 budget was reviewed.

The treasurer’s report was approved as submitted.

Vice Commodore’s Report:

  • Two floats were rebuilt and two more planned this spring.
  • The loading area will be re-dressed.
  • The shed is painted.
  • The mowing going well with swale cutting to help with parking.
  • The seawall is being looked at for rebuild.
  • The flagpole is being reconditioned.
  • Question: Can the new floats have better bumpers and more cleats? A: When the board rebuilds the float additional things will be looked at and added.

The Vice Commodore’s Report was approved as submitted.

Nomination Committee (read by Mike Bennett):

  • Directors nominated for a new three year term: Donald Clapp and Russell Spencer.  No other nominations were given. The secretary made a motion to accept the slate of nominees, seconded, and approved unanimously.
  • Officers nominated for 1 year terms: Joseph Wright, Commodore; Steve Clifford,      Vice Commodore; John Sionenen, Treasurer; David Morin, Secretary. No other nominations were made. A motion was made to accept the slate of nominees, seconded, and all were approved unanimously.
  • The secretary swore himself in and thanked everyone.


  • Commodore Wright thanked the board for their dedication and efforts, The St Lawrence Club for the room, the membership for making the club great, the cook out staff, volunteers, Dan Tessier/Bobby Murrin for flagpole work, Dave Horrigan for lot maintenance, Ed and Mike Sikora, Dockmasters, and Koya for the $1500 scholarship donation.

Member Participation:

  • Emails will be used more now through the website.
  • Member Ted Flaherty thanked the board and is pleased to be part of the club.

Motion was made and seconded to adjourn the meeting at 8:12pm. Motion seconded and approved.

Attest: David Morin, Secretary
Joe Wright, Commodore