January 31, 2023 — Annual Meeting Minutes

The Ipswich Outboard Club Board of Directors held the IOC annual meeting at St. Lawrence Literary Society, Fairview Ave., Ipswich, Ma. The meeting was called to order by Commodore Clifford at 7:04 p.m. All officers and directors were present. Forty total IOC voting members attended the meeting.

Commodore Clifford thanked all and welcomed everyone to the 2023 IOC annual meeting. Pizza and water were provided. The IOC Board was introduced.

Secretary Morin motioned to dispense with the reading of the 2022 annual minutes, seconded, and approved.

Secretary’s Report:

  • A moment of silence was held for Paul Marchand, Pierre Doucet, and Randy Craig.
  • 2023 renewals have been steady coming in. New stickers are blue and are being sent out. We will reuse the white/blue hangtags.
  • Membership will be full again this year at 230 total. 53 on the waiting list. No new members expected this year.
  • Please email the secretary with any needs.

The secretary’s report was approved as submitted.

Treasurer’s Report:

  • The 2022 audited annual financial report was reviewed in detail including revenues and expenses.
  • 2023 budget was discussed.
  • A $52,000 balance at year end is in the bank account, and no debt.
  • A question was asked on raising the scholarship budgeted amount and interest rate for remaining account balance. Many responses were given about scholarship fund and CDs with higher rates are being considered. The IOC is a 501C7 organization.
  • John Soininen was given an ovation for his efforts as treasurer.

The treasurer’s report was approved as submitted.

Vice Commodore’s Report:

  • New catwalks/gangways/and piling installed.
  • Top of property is wet and the town will be contacted about cleaning up the swales.
  • Water Street will be paved in 2025.
  • Dredging the bottom of the ramp is being looked at.

The Vice Commodore’s Report was approved as submitted.

Nomination Committee (read by Mike Sikora):

  • Directors nominated for a new three year term: Joseph Wright, Liz Lombard, John Soininen, and Steve Clifford.  No other nominations were given. The secretary made a motion to accept the slate of nominees, seconded, and approved unanimously.
  • Officers nominated for 1 year terms: Steve Clifford, Commodore; Donald Clapp, Vice Commodore; John Sioninen, Treasurer; David Morin, Secretary. The secretary made a motion to accept the slate of nominees, seconded, and all were approved unanimously.
  • The secretary swore himself in and thanked everyone.
  • Commodore Clifford thanked the nominating committee.


  • Commodore Clifford thanked the board for their dedication and efforts and said “it takes a village”. He thanked The St Lawrence Club for the room, the cook out staff, all volunteers with float haul, the dockmaster and all the members.

Member Participation:

  • A question was given on dredging the bottom of the ramp. Gary Champion said he has experience with dredging and offered to help. A committee may be put together.
  • Alana Burns thanked the board and volunteers for making our club great.

Motion was made and seconded to adjourn the meeting at 7:43 p.m. Motion seconded and approved.

Attest: David Morin, Secretary
Steve Clifford, Commodore